Craftspeople ConservatorsArchitects Commissioners


Craftsmen & Women

Decorating and Plasterwork
Lucinda Compton – Conservator of Decorative Surfaces, (01423) 324290
Ernest Dobson and Sons – Decorating and Historic Finishes,  e.dobsonandsons@btconnect.com
Hesp and Jones – (Charles Hesp – Specialist Decorators and Conservators, www.hespandjones.co.uk
Ryedale Plasterers Ltd. – (Catherine Windross) – Plasterers and Cornice Spacialists, www.ryedaleplasterers.co.uk
Sebastian Wakefield – (Sebastian Wakefield) – Painter and Gilder, www.paintersandgilders.com

Furniture, Cabinetmaking, French Polishing
 
A A & L A Jones – (Tony Jones) – Antique Furniture Restoration, www.jonesfurniturerestoration.co.uk
Andrew G Podmore & Son – (David Podmore) – Antique Furniture Restoration & French Polishers, www.agpodmore.co.uk
Golden Hands – (MAster Yuri Karpov) – Furniture design & restoration, www.golden-hands.org 
Hare & Ransome –  Andrew Robson) – Specialist Joiners, www.hareandransome.com
Houghtons of York – (Roger Silk) – Joiners and Woodcarvers, www.houghtons.plus.com
Silvanus Interiors – (Pascal Silvestre) – Architectural Joiners and Cabinetmakers, www.silvanus- interiors.co.uk
T L Phelps – Fine Furniture Restoration & Conservation Services, phelps@furnitureconservation.org
Treske Ltd. – (Justin Bartlett) – Hardwood Furniture Makers and Designers, www.treske.co.uk
 
Engineering and Vehicles
National Railway Museum – (Ed. Bartholomew) – Engineering Workshops and Conservation Studio, www.nrm.org.uk
Yorkshire Air Museum – (Ian Reed) – Conservation and Restoration of Aircraft, www.yorkshireairmuseum.co.uk
 
Metalworkers
Don Barker Ltd. – (Don Barker) – Architectural Blacksmiths, www.theblacksmiths.co.uk
Topp & Co. – (Chris Topp) – Architectural Metalwork, www.toppandco.com
J & J W Longbottom – (Richard Gudgeon) – Specialist Ironfounders, www.longbottomfoundry.co.uk 
Derwent Valley Forge – (Joseph Cook)  Specialists in fencing, gates and tree enclosures. www.derwentvalleyforge.com

Stained Glass
Barley Studio Ltd. – (Keith Barley) - Design and Mastery in Stained Glass, www.barleystudio.co.uk
Martin Johnson Ltd. – (Martin Johnson) - Stained Glass and Window Conservation, www.martinjohnsonglass.co.uk
Park Glass Studio – (Mark Harvey) – Stained Glass Designers, www.parkglassstudios.com
Sambrook and Temperton – (Anthony Temperton) – Stained Glass Artists, www.fanlights.co.uk
 
Stone and Wood
Iain Broadbent – (Iain Broadbent) – Woodcarving, Lettering, Repairs, www.iainbroadbent.co.uk
J & W Kirby - timber frame construction and conservation, www.jwkirby.co.uk
Osgoldcross Joinery - Joinery and Carpentry, 
Peter Moore Masonry - Building and Conservation, petermooremasonry@btinternet.com
J Rotherham Masonry Ltd. – (Anna Buckley) - Stonemasons and Carvers, www.jrotherham.co.uk
Charles Smith - Sculptor of Letters, www.lettercuttingcarvingcharlessmith.co.uk

York Minster – (Rebecca Thompson) – Superintendent of Works, rebeccat@yorkminster.org


Back to Top of Page


Specialist Conservators & Restorers

Artworks Conservation – (Richard Hawkes) – Conservation and Restoration of Art on Paper, www.artworksconservation.co.uk
Book Conservation Services - (Karen Vidler),  Book and Paper Conservation and Training, www.bookconservationservices.co.uk
Critchlow and Kukkonen Ltd –  (Lucy Critchlow) Conservation and Restoration of Easel Paintings www.ckpaintingsconservation.com
Mary Brooks – Textile Conservator, www.marymbrooks.co.uk
Susie Clark – Paper and Photographic Conservator, susieclark@sclark100.fsnet.co.uk

PJC Ceramics Ltd.
 – (Pete David), Ceramics Restoration, www.pjdceramics.co.uk
Francis W Downing – Fine Art Conservation, www.francisdowning.com
David Everingham – Conservation of Paintings , Decorative Schemes, www.everinghamconservation.co.uk
Mike Howden – Carving and Gilding Conservator, www.frameconservation.co.uk
Emma Lloyd-Jones – Book and Paper Conservator, emmalloyd-jones@sky.com
Michael Major – Sculpture Conservation and Restoration, michaelmajorsculpture@hotmail.com
Ruth Mathias – Conservation of Art on Paper and Archives, ruthmathias21@gmail.com
Mark Roberts Conservation Ltd – (Mark Roberts) European Easel Paintings, www.picturerestorer.co.uk

Alaina Schmisseur - Archaeological and Museum Conservator, aschmiss@gmail.com
Jim Spriggs – Archaeological Conservation Consultant, spriggs.conserve@hotmail.co.uk
Sally Strachey  Sally Strachey Conservation, Historic building conservation. www.sallystracheyconservation.co.uk
Stathis TsolisConservator Antiquities-Historical, tsolis@efstathios.co.uk
York Archaeological Trust – (Ian Panter) – Archaeological conservation & Historic Building Recording Services, www.yorkarchaeology.co.uk
York Bookbinding – (Philip Winskill) – Bookbinding and Book Conservation, www.yorkbookbinding.co.uk
York Glaziers Trust – (Sarah Brown & Charlotte Allaway) – Medieval Stained Glass Conservation, www.yorkglazierstrust.org


Back to Top of Page
 

Architects and Building Consultants

Burrows Davies Ltd. - (Mark Burrows) - Restoration and Stonemasonry Specialist, www.burrowsdavies.co.uk
David Rawlins - Chartered Surveyor, Historic Buildings, www.surveysyork.co.uk
Ferrey and Mennim Limited – (Andrew Boyce) – Chartered Architects, ww.ferreyandmennim.co.uk
Gelder Harvey – (Philip Harvey), Architects, www.gelderharveyarchitects.co.uk
Geoff Neal (Roofing) Ltd. – (Geoff Neal) – Roofing Contractor, www.nealroofing.com
Jmark Construction Ltd. – (Julian Graves), Conservation Building Contractors, http://www.jmark.org.uk
Joplings – (Doulas Marr) – Building Surveyors, www.joplings.com
Kevin Woods – Heritage Building, Plastering and Roofing Contractor, www.woodsbuild.co.uk
Lanstone Conservation Ltd. - Heritage & Listed Building Contractors, www.lanstone.co.uk

LHL Group – (Julie Cater) – Building Consultants, www.lhlgroup.co.uk
Malcolm Tempest Ltd. - (Malcolm Tempest) - Architects and Designers, www.malcolmtempest.co.uk
Matthias Garn and Partner – (Matthias Garn) – Stone Structures,  www.matthiasgarn.com
Native Chartered Architects Ltd (Sophie Adamson) - Architects www.nativearchitecture.co.uk
Origin Structures Ltd. – (Steve Carney) –  Structural Engineering,  www.originstructures.co.uk
Pearce Bottomley – (Sebastian Rowe) – Architects and Building Consultants, www.pbarchitects.co.uk
PPIY Ltd. – (Stephen Parry) – Architects and CMD Coordinators, www.ppiy.co.uk
PURCELL  – (Martin Stancliffe and Christopher Cotton) – Conservation Architects and Heritage Consultancy, www.pmt.co.uk
Sandtoft Roof Tiles Ltd. – (Nigel Dyer) – Tile Manufacturers, www.sandtoft.com
Simmon Sherriff Architects – (David Sherriff) – Architects, 0113 242 4000
Stephen Pickering – Stonemason and Traditional Building Services, www.stephenpickering.co.uk
Wiles & Maguire – (Andrew Maguire) – Architects and Historic Building Consultants, www.wamarchitects.co.uk
William Anelay Ltd. – (Charles Anelay) – Building and Restoration Contractors, www.williamanelay.co.uk
William Birch & Sons Ltd. – (Chris Birch) – Building and Restoration Specialists, www.williambirch.co.uk
W R Dunn – (Richard Dunn) – Chartered Building Surveyors and Architects, www.wrdunn.co.uk
York Guild of Building – (John Niklaus), www.yorkguildofbuilding.org

York Handmade Brick Company Ltd. – Specialists in Handmade Bricks, www.yorkhandmade.co.uk
YJA – (Yvonne Adamson) – Historic Buildings Conservation, http://www.yjaconservation.co.uk

Back to Top of Page


 

Commissioners and Educators

COMMISSIONERS OF CONSERVATION AND RESTORATION
National Trust, Yorkshire Regional Office – (Roger Carr-Whitworth), www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Quilt Museum and Gallery (Heather Audin) www.quiltmuseum.org.uk

York Conservation Trust Ltd. – (Philip Thake), www.yorkconservationtrust.org
York Civic Trust – (David Fraser), www.yorkcivictrust.co.uk
York Museums Trust – (Janet Barnes), www.yorkmuseumstrust.org.uk

Castle Howard Estate – (Christopher Ridgway), www.castlehoward.co.uk

EDUCATION AND TRAINING

Heritage Craft Alliance Ltd. – (Glenn Young), Training in conservation crafts, www.heritagecraftalliance.co.uk
University of York, Dept. of Archaeology – (Gill Chitty) – Training in Conservation, www.york.ac.uk/depts/arch/
York Archaeological Trust – (John Walker), www.yorkarchaeology.co.uk
York College – (Kevin Clancey) – Centre for Construction & Heritage Skills, www.yorkcollege.ac.uk
York Guild of Building – (John Niklaus) – Building Science Promotion, www.yorkguildofbuilding.org

Back to Top of Page

News Highlights

2017 John Shannon Memorial Lecture Date Announced!

This year's lecture will be taking place on the evening of 27th of June at the Merchant Adventurers Hall.  Further details to follow, but please mark your diaries!

2016 AGM and John Shannon Lecture

The Annual General Meeting of the Consortium, to be chaired by our President Dr Peter Addyman, will be held at 7 pm on Tuesday the 28th of June, 2016.  We are fortunate once again to be allowed by the Governor and Company of the Merchant Adventurers the use of their magnificent Hall for the event. 

The John Shannon Conservation Lecture is given this year by Glenn Young, Managing Director of the Heritage Craft Alliance Ltd and YCCC Committee member, whose subject will be “Ensuring a Legacy of Traditional Skills”.