Who we are

Consortium and Foundation Committee and Trustees:


Professor Sir Ron Cooke

Vice Presidents

Dr K H M Dixon CBE
The Lord Mayor of York (ex officio)
Dick Reid OBE
Dr Andrew Scott CBE
Dr Peter Addyman CBE

Foundation Trustees

Martin Stancliffe MA, FSA, RIBA

Martin has been chairman of YCCC and YFCC since 2005.  He is an architect specializing in the conservation of historic buildings, and founded his own architectural practice (Martin Stancliffe Architects) in York in 1979.  From 1990 to 2011 he was Surveyor to the Fabric of St. Paul’s Cathedral in London, where he is now Surveyor Emeritus. He is trustee of a number of charitable bodies, including the Landmark Trust.

Jim Spriggs ACR, Dip Cons. FIIC MIFA FSA

Formerly Head of Conservation with the York Archaeological Trust, Jim has been involved with the Consortium and Foundation since their inception. He has, over the years, acted as newsletter editor, membership secretary and treasurer, as well as Trustee.

James Grierson BLE, MBA, Dip M, FRICS

James is responsible for fundraising and the bursary programme.  James was a Partner in an international real estate advisory practice and now has a portfolio of roles as consultant, non-executive director and trustee.  James is also Chair of York Museums Trust.

 Dr Gill Chitty FSA, IHBC, MCIfA, FHEA

Dr Gill Chitty is course director of the University of York’s MA programmes in Conservation Studies and Associate Dean in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities.

Sarah Brown MA, FSA, FRHistS

Sarah is course director of the University of York’s MA in Stained Glass Conservation and Heritage Management as well as Director of the York Glazier’s Trust.

Consortium Committee

Martin Stancliffe – Architect, YCCC Chair and Foundation Trustee
Elaine Phillips – Chartered Accountant and Hon. Treasurer
Tim Stead – Hon. Secretary, York Minster Works Department Administrator
Mags Felter – Archaeological Conservator
Alaina Schmisseur – Object Conservator and YCCC Technology Officer
Jim Spriggs – Archaeological Conservator and Foundation Trustee
James Grierson – Chartered Surveyor and FoundationTrustee
Dr Birte Walbers – Conservation Academic & Membership Secretary
Susie Clark – Paper & Photographic Conservator
Francis Downing – Paintings Conservator
Kibby Schaefer – Wood Carver, Building Conservation Contractor
Sue Silk – Heritage Joinery
Glenn Young – Heritage Training
Alex McCallion – Director of Works & Precincts – York Minster
Helen de Saram – Head of Conservation – National Railway Museum
Bethan Griffiths – Heritage Ironwork